Lindisfarne Castle, Holy Island, England
Edinburgh, Scotland
Isle of May
Durham, England

International

Scotland and England
Jul 10, 2017 to Jul 26, 2017

Beginning in the capital city of Edinburgh, our tour encompasses many lighthouses the Society is visiting for the first time! Boat trips to lighthouses in the Firth of Forth as well as a visit to the Royal Yacht Britannica are on the schedule prior to heading south along the Scottish coast to Barnes Ness and St. Abbs Head. Entering England, our tour is packed with iconic lighthouses, castles & priories, historic islands and small coastal towns.

Some of the more famous lights include Longstone, Coquet, St. Mary’s, Souter, Flamborough Head and Spurn Point. The Coquet, Blyth, Tyne, Wear and Humber Rivers all flow into the North Sea and are home to a large number of very interesting and unusual breakwater and pier lights. Every effort has been made to make the 16 day trip easier with multiple nights in most hotels and a free day in Newcastle. If all that isn’t enough, when we leave the coast and head for another capital city, London, we will pause for some additional attractions including Oxford University, Windsor Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon.

So, dust off your kilt, bone up on your English history and remember what Shakespeare said: “To sign up or not sign up - that is the question.” If you do, you will not be disappointed.


ITINERARY

Monday, July 10:  Arrive Edinburgh, Scotland - Welcome Dinner and Overnight
Tuesday, July 11:  Edinburgh
Wednesday, July 12:  Edinburgh
Thursday, July 13:  Edinburgh
Friday, July 14:  Alnwick, England
Saturday, July 15:  Alnwick
Sunday, July 16:  Alnwick 
Monday, July 17:  Newcastle upon Tyne
Tuesday, July 18:  Newcastle upon Tyne 
Wednesday, July 19:  
Newcastle upon Tyne
Thursday, July 20:  Newcastle upon Tyne
Friday, July 21:  Bridlington
Saturday, July 22:  Hull
Monday, July 23:  Hull
Tuesday, July 24:  Stratford upon Avon
Wednesday, July 25:  London, Heathrow Airport - Farewell Dinner
Thursday, July 26:  Flights Home

 

+ click to enlarge


Costs:

Single: $5885
Double (per person): $4880
What's Included: 

Accommodation and most meals
Transport: Coach, ferries, local transport as needed
Other: Entrances to lighthouses and museums

Want more Details?

Contact Headquarters: (415)362-7255 or jeff@uslhs.org

Email this tour to your friend, and add your "Let's Go" message!


other stops and further information:

Attractions:
Royal Yacht Britannia 
Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, Holyroodhouse
Holy Island (Lindisfarne Priory and Lindisfarne Castle)
Bamburgh Castle
Stratford-upon-Avon
Hartlepool Maritime Experience
Whitby Abbey

Tour schedule, lighthouses and accommodations subject to change

Download a Tour Registration form (PDF) Complete and mail your check to USLHS, 9005 Point No Point Rd NE, Hansville, WA 98340.